Raised Bed – Part 2

After another very bad start to the day, I thought the garden was off the cards today. To my great surprise, at about 2:00pm the sun came out for a visit, it even got warm too.

So here is how the area started off –

DSC_0626

 

And after about 2 hours of digging this was the end result –

DSC_0631

 

These are some of the larger stones I dug up from the raised bed section, quite surprised at what was down there in all honesty.

DSC_0629

 

In all I took 3 buckets of rubble up to the recycling plant, as they where to small for me to use again.

There will be an area behind the raised bed that |I will block off from the dog and build up as an insectopia.

Tomorrow is going to involve me sieving the area to get rid of as much glass and slate as I can, don’t want a cut hand in the future. The wood for the raised beds are lined up and just waiting for my father to deliver them to me.

The only other thing for the bed then is manure, since the dirt is poor I need to find someone local to get it from, so that will be my aim for next week.

4 thoughts on “Raised Bed – Part 2

  1. Christina

    Good luck with the raised beds, it is my methos of growing vegetables and I can’t recomend it enough, if you search through for vegetable posts you’ll see how mine work Christina

    Reply

Leave a Reply

